emilyvsfashion

Style spotting, behind the scenes and fashion dreams…

And thats a wrap for 2013…Fashion highlights of the year!

This week I wrapped up my final shoot of 2013. Of course that isn’t to say I’m done working, I still have retouching and editing down to do, no rest for the wicked they say!

The shoot was the second part of my work for Style Lux Uk, helping create fresh imagery for the re-branding of the company’s online presence. Big task! The brief was simple, clean, beautiful images to advertise their line of hair extensions, with 18 different colours to shoot…and 18 models to find to match! Suddenly not such a simple task!

The shoot has been almost completed in two parts, having spend two days photographing 15 different models with an amazing team. I even had an assistant on the first shoot to keep things moving smoothly, which was a great help! With only three models left to find for January, the shoot has taught me how to org-anise a big shoot within a budget, how to find models in a short space of time, and the importance of working with a talented and reliable team. Without the skills of the hair stylist Tony Waterhouse, or the makeup artist, Rina Deb, the shoot could have been a disaster! Here is a look at some of the un-edited shots of what we got up to:

Image

This was my fourth shoot for the company, and I’m so enjoying working on images for them! I got to thinking about the other shoots and events I’ve been involved in this year, and having had the opportunity to work with some amazing people, I’m thankful that 2013 has become one of the best years for my career so far. I wanted to share some of my fashion highlights of the year!

Vogue Festival 2013

Heading down with my lovely model companion Kimberley Megan, we saw talks by Donatella Versace herself, the incredible Mario Testino, Vivienne Westwood and many more, it was a great opportunity to listen to icons of the industry open up about their experiences and give genuine advice to the audience. I shot some of my favourite street style images of the year here too, and my write up of the proceedings was published online with Urban Coco Magazine! I love writing as much as I love photography, so that was a lovely bonus!

Image

I also had the chance to meet Erin O’Connor in person, and chat with model bookers from some of the biggest agencies in London about my work, gaining priceless advice!

Image

London Fashion Week – S/S 14

What a fantastic experience! I went along to shoot some street style and nail art inspirations for awesome website Nail Art Now, went to the swanky launch party of the new edition of Schon! Magazine and met some amazing bloggers, photographers and creatives…such an inspiring place to be, just looking around Somerset House made me giddy, and only further proved my love for this industry! I got to take street snaps of the beautiful Viktoria Modesta, my favourite street styler Deigh Alexander Smith (both below), and the gorgeous Kavita, blogger at She Wears Fashion. The best bit, I got to share the experience with two of my favourite collaborators, Rina Deb Makeup Artist and model Kimberley Megan!

Image

Leeds Fashion Show 2013 Promo Shoot

Having been asked to be involved in the promo shoot for Leeds Fashion Show 2013, I was very excited when I heard the details…a full days shooting in the new Trinity shopping center in Leeds, with access to the the rooftop gardens and balconies, with four talented models? Perfection! All of the clothes were beautiful, and it gave me a chance to really test my stripes as a photographer, hauling equipment, moving lighting, fast paced environment and countless looks to work through! The team were all amazing, Hannah Lomas did a beautiful job of the makeup, and we had Hobbs Salon doing some amazing hair looks! The styling was all done by one of the shows designers, Savannah Morrish, whose designs were among my favourite to photograph on the day.

Image

Nail Art Now

I got involved with the website Nail Art Now, creating editorial shoots for their magazine to display some amazing nail art. This gave me the opportunity to get really creative, and a platform to share my work, which was amazing. I produced some of my favourite images of the year within the shoots, and worked with a lovely mixture of people on the images. I finally got to shoot a Baroque themed editorial, something I have wanted to do for a long time, and it made me focus on the little details of my images…after all the nails had to be prominent in each shot!

Image

Vau Vau Fashion Show

This was an event not to be missed, with a gorgeous display of designers work from the fantastical delights of Latex designer Eustratia (below), to the punk inspired collection of Dazarockz. The whole show took place inside the setting of the Left Bank church in Leeds, a dramatic scene for the night. My blog from the evening was my most popular to date, and I couldn’t have enjoyed shooting that evening any more!

Image

So 2013 really was a fashion filled year to remember…and it was the year I officially became a photographer full time! It was a year filled with a lot of hard work, and a lot of fun!

With the next fashion week just around the corner…needless to say…bring on 2014!

Emily

x

Leave a Reply

